Bloodworm Songs

by Jakob Battick & Friends

  • Streaming + Download

    Immediate download of 5-track album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire. Comes with jpegs of limited edition CD artwork/liner notes.




The music video for 'Three Orphans' can be viewed here:

"...doomed & somber soaked to the fuckin' bone, a funereal death march of the greatest heartache and the most glorious bittersweet beauty, harmoniums squeezing the life out of your soul, vocals streaming with tears of despair & misery, strings & guitars dressing your heart up in burial robes, drums plodding to the torturous end"

-Justin Snow, Anti-gravity Bunny (Mass.)

"...Jakob Battick & Friends finally return with their very unique take on contemporary folk music, once again turning classic tropes of 20th century Americana into haunted and eerie pieces of forward-looking yet history-informed “nightmarefolk”."

-Henning Lahmann, NOFEAROFPOP (Berlin)

"Battick and Friends have tread into some new ground here - while retaining the organic, ethereal vibe that is like a hallmark of the band, sound-bite fragments and a rolling, wave-like presence throughout create an eerier atmosphere than usual, particularly on "My Second Bloodworm Song" which is surely the most harrowing track they've put out yet."

-Marilyn Roxie, A Future In Noise (California)

Purchase of the physical CD copy of 'Bloodworm Songs' will come with the immediate digital download of the EP as well as complimentary and free high-quality recordings of an entire live set recorded 01/29/2011 at The Oak + The Ax in Biddeford (42 minutes, stereo sound, excellent quality), featuring still more as-of-yet-unreleased Jakob Battick & Friends songs.

Bloodworm Songs will be the first Jakob Battick & Friends release since March 2010's 'Heavy the Mountains.' This EP is a collection of new songs and sounds, and features the two brand new songs 'Three Orphans' and 'Leper K' (Both pulled from the pile of unreleased songs that have been written for the eventual Jakob Battick & Friends 'debut' LP.) Also present are two new oceanic "Bloodworm Song" sound collages and an extended hypnotic arrangement of 'Nine Brothers & The Wolf.' These are prayer & curse songs written with scraps of memory and legend, and spun together with swirling ambiances to summon up some drunken and staggering ur-forest in your head.

The physical edition of this album is limited to 100 copies on CD. The artwork for this release is a bundle of black-on-transparency and black-on-vellum inserts in a 3.5 ml polyethylene sleeve, making for literal visual depth & layering. All discs are hand-stamped with the HORSEHOUSE Ltd. Hand of Glory Logo in black on white. Photography by Jacob Folsom, artwork by Jakob Battick with some borrowing and modification of Albrecht Dürer's 'Ship of Fools' woodcut.


released March 11, 2011

JAKOB BATTICK- Electric guitar, voice, floor tom, bass drum, violin, violoncello, loops and sound collage.
JARED FAIRFIELD- Electric guitar, voice, floor tom, peanut-tin violin, Chord organ.



all rights reserved


Jakob Battick & Friends Portland, Maine

JB&F. RIP. 2009-2011.

contact / help

Contact Jakob Battick & Friends

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code